Go Eat Worms

When I was little, there was this song:  “Nobody likes me, everybody hates me, guess I’ll go eat worms.” The song continued forever after that and I don’t know if it’s something I learned in preschool, day care, kindergarten or what but every time I’d have a thoroughly rotten day, it became my theme song. I’m sure I annoyed my mother to no end with it. Yesterday was a day like that. With one awesome exception, this whole week has been like that.

I’ll be posting about the awesome news in a few days. I both don’t want to tarnish my good news with the crud or invalidate the crud with the good news. Whether or not that makes any logical sense, I’ll leave for you to decide.

The crud is varied and cruddy, as is to be expected.

My dad is currently in the hospital and they’re trying to figure out if the problems he’s having are the same or related to the heart infection he had 14 years ago. I’m worried and trying to keep it mostly under my hat both for my stepmom and my kids. My awesomesocks stepmom is worried enough without me making it worse. We took the kids to see him on Sunday so they do know something is going on but until I have something concrete from the doctors, I’m letting them be the kids they are. If they ask questions, I’ll answer them but there’s no sense in getting them worked up when no one really knows what’s going on just yet.

There are other things too, but most of them are little things made bigger by the fact that I’m already in a not great head space and my biggest fan, best first reader, and biggest supporter isn’t really up to listen to me whine about stuff that doesn’t matter in the long run.

I know my mood must be awful as the hubster armed himself with flowers and pie before coming home from work yesterday. At least I know he’s learned something in last decade.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

