Interrupted

They say life is what happens when you are busy making plans. I would really like it if, every now again, life just shut up and let things go according to my plan, dang it.

I did manage to finish my nanowrimo project and it is now sitting off to the side for a while until I’m ready to work on it. It’s a decent story but it needs a new beginning and I think I’m changing the POV entirely. Basically, I just wrote a 51,000 word outline. Such is life. I like it but it needs a lot of work, especially in the finer details and stabilizing the mythology of the story so everything reads true to itself.

I am usually finished much sooner but there were a few days when I just couldn’t write. Or if I had, it would have been absolute nonsense. My brain turns to mush when I’m worried. Oldest child is 14 and has always had some vision issues. We were all due new glasses so, off we went. Unfortunately, kid had a very high interoccular pressure reading and some medullated fibers obstructing the view of his retina and we had to run off to an ophthalmologist. Ophthalmologist does a different test than the air-puff test that was used and it turns out he does have a slightly elevated pressure but that his thicker cornea basically rendered said air-puff test absolutely inaccurate. As for those fibers, we have to go to a different facility in January to get some kind of pictures done so they can get a better look. So, as much as we are out of the woods, we’re not. My understanding is that these fibers are commonish and benign so, that’s something, but I’ll still worry until it’s all over and they say it’s all ok. Who am I kidding though, I’m going to worry forever because that’s kind of my job as his mother. I admit though I like my worrying much better when there’s really nothing to worry about and I’m just being me.

There were several things I was supposed to do this month that just didn’t work out the way I’d planned. Fortunately, everything seems to have gone swimmingly without my help anyway. Hopefully, December works out a little more like it’s supposed to (like I have it planned, dang it!).

Leave a comment

Filed under Life, Parenting, Writing

Leave a Reply

