2014 is almost finished

This year has moved by pretty quickly overall. I can’t believe it’s almost over! It’s actually been a pretty productive year, even considering I had a few months where words were just not working so well for me. My first novel, Guardian of the Gods, came out in February. I put the finishing touches on one novel, wrote the drafts for two others, and even managed a smattering of short stories. I started writing for The Geek Girl Project (which has been so awesome so far!). I went to my first convention and took my oldest son to his first convention. I met some really great people both online and in person. Overall, even with the ick that hit a couple of times, this year has been pretty good. I still hope that next year will be even better and without the ick.

I’ve got the Christmas crafting finished just in time as tomorrow is the last day of school for the kids until January. I’m only doing handmade stuff for my two kids this year as their projects took a lot more time and patience than I’d expected, but they turned out really cool. I’ll post them after the holiday because both of my kids use the internet and are very nosy – I still can’t believe how well they turned out! I think I’m getting more excited for Christmas than my boys are because I know they’re going to love these things – the oldest will squeal and the youngest will wonder how I knew what he wanted that he didn’t put on his list. I love when that happens. Usually, I make something for everyone but it’s just not going to happen that way this year. Unless I find a project that the kids can do instead since they have so much time off before Christmas.

Between now and the end of the year, it’s going to be a flurry of baking, cooking, and wrapping and I probably won’t have too much time to blog or write (or read). Once Christmas is over, I’ll be looking forward to January so I can get back in the swing of things. Though I won’t have time to mess with it too much until January, I’ve figured out what’s wrong with the beginning of Demonborn (this year’s nanowrimo novel that I hope to have rewritten and off to my first reader before January is finished). Overall, I’m quite hopeful for next year.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Life, Writing

Leave a Reply

