Ends and Beginnings

2014 is very nearly over and, like almost every year to come before it, I’m glad to see the back of it. I begin every year with a veiled optimism and 2015 is no different. Hopefully, by this time next year, I’ll have found homes for the books that are sitting in slush piles now and have a whole new batch sitting in a whole new set of slush piles.

As far as goals go, I’m not good with word count goals (except in November where there is a program holding me accountable). I’d like to have Demonborn, Careful What You Wish For, and Long is the Way done and off to slush. I’d like to have something new finished. I’d like to fix up a few short stories that have been collecting dust and get them out the door and hopefully pull a few new ones together. The plan is to work on something, in some fashion, at least 5 days out of every 7. Having both kids in school makes this absolutely attainable. I’m already rewriting Demonborn – I’m hoping to have it off to my first readers by the end of January. I also have a market in mind for this one so hopefully, their submission window coincides with when I’m ready to send it.

I’m a little down at the moment because it’s almost time to put Christmas decorations away. When that happens, it’s like admitting that it’s really over for a whole year. That saddens me every year. Though, I know I’ll also be glad to have my every day decorations back out (read: all my geeky stuff). I’m sure there will be more than enough to keep me busy until then.

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

