Remakes and Whitewashing

There are some remakes I’m really looking forward to (Mad Max, I’m looking at you!). It doesn’t happen very often, but it does happen sometimes. There are other things I think were awesome to begin with. Case in point, Ghost in the Shell. Early in my introduction to Anime, I found Ghost in the Shell and, if you’ve read my science fiction, you know it influenced me a great deal.

The news of a live-action version of GITS seems to be on the board. With Scarlett Johansson as Motoko (most likely but they’re just saying “starring” at the moment). I realize it works due to the fact that the brain and the body are two separate entities but, unless they fill out the rest of the cast with Asian actors, I will continue to be annoyed. Yes, I want more female driven action movies, especially from source material that rocks, but there’s a line that needs to be drawn somewhere. Remakes should not equal whitewashing. I realize the studios want big names to headline but fans of the source material wouldn’t have needed that headliner. In fact, if they would just make good movies, people would come to the theaters.

Of course, Hollywood seems stuck in a serious rut at the moment anyway. Everything is remakes, sequels, and fluff. I love the comic books movies and all the blow’em up, shoot’em up movies – that stuff is right up my alley (except when they screw up awesome characters almost irreparably). I’m not as picky as some geeks – there is something to love in almost every movie. I’m not a chickflick fan, but even they have their good points.

Is it too much to ask for them to stop mucking around with things that were already great and find something new to put on screen? I mean, Sandman Slim would be awesome. So would the In Death series. Hell, anyone could probably list a dozen books that would make good movies if they did them well.

Don’t get me wrong, I like Scarlett just fine, just not in Ghost in the Shell.

Leave a comment

Filed under Geek, Movies

Leave a Reply

