Scary Movies have the best makeup

I have been watching and reading quite a bit of horror lately. One of my favorite things about scary movies is the makeups. So impressive. From the xenomorph in Alien to the incredibly detailed muscle, bone, and sinew suit Julia wears in Hellraiser 2.

I have a great deal of admiration for the people who create these incredible things. The Alien will probably be my favorite of all the effects makeups ever. The skill required to sculpt and engineer a thing like that, it’s pretty damned impressive. It’s one of the reasons I enjoy Face Off so much, watching the characters go from paper to application. So impressive. I know I keep using that word but there isn’t a better one.

I think my all time favorites are the Alien, the skinless Julia suit, the faun from Pan’s Labyrinth, and the torn up Jack from American Werewolf in London. What are your favorite on screen makeups?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Movies

Leave a Reply

