Summer

Summer is always a mixed bag for me. I’m not big on the weather but it’s also growing season and swimming season and kids are home to play with season. (when they aren’t bickering at each other, my kids are so much fun). It never feels like there are enough hours in the day and too many of them are hot and bright.

This school year is not quite over yet thanks to all the snow days this past winter but tomorrow afternoon begins summer vacation officially. This may be the shortest summer ever. Before we know it, school will be back in session and I’ll be the mother of a high school student. How on earth that is possible, I haven’t figured out. In the mean time, we’re going to enjoy the summer we’ve got.

I never seem to get as much writing done in the summer as I’d like. I’m determined to do better this year though. My youngest kid is an early riser – we had to institute a rule where he is not allowed out of bed before 6 AM. I’m generally up with him. I can’t sleep past 7 any more, no matter how late I’m up. That means that, if I work at it, I should have at least two hours every day to get words in. All it takes is some dedication and determination. I’m going to get the draft of Hunter’s Hell (the working title of Hunter’s Crossing’s sequel) done this summer. Hopefully anyway. With everything going on right now, I’m hopeful but not promising.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life, Parenting, Writing

Leave a Reply

