Writing Implements

When I was younger, about 14, my little family was walking around a little antique shop and I found the thing. THE thing. That one thing I had to have for my life to be complete. Fortunately, I was a weird 14 year old girl and that thing was an antique quill pen in a battered but still whole case. Who knows how old it was, whatever, I didn’t care. At 14, I knew one thing. I wanted to be a writer, a real writer and real writers used real writing implements. (Side note: I have NEVER actually used my quill pens – not the antique ones anyway). It wasn’t expensive and my mother bought it for me for Christmas because I wasn’t leaving the shop without it. That was the first. My collection has grown since then. Writing implements of all kinds – quills, desk sets, ink wells, typewriters – antiques, reproductions, any artsy writing related thing with a flare for style.

This weekend, I found a really cool thing in a junk shop. I left it there but I guess I talked about it when we went visiting at the in-laws as my father-in-law, when he brought my oldest child home, he had bought it for me. It is really neat and nothing seems to be missing. A personal printing press. I don’t know much about it but I do know it was used to print a club newsletter just from the type that was set on the drum. The rubber type is so small and it’s going to be so neat to show my kids how it used to be, at least on the small scale. I find myself really hoping that the font I’ve got isn’t Times New Roman as my youngest boy, for whatever reason, really dislike’s Times New Roman.

so neat

so neat

What's inside the box?

What’s inside the box?

I can’t wait to play with it! I have no idea what I’m going to do with it but I know I’m going to replace the ink pad, get new ink, and do something fun with it.

I really lucked out in the in-law lottery. I hear horror stories from time to time from other people and I can’t help but be grateful that I really absolutely won the in-law lottery.

Leave a comment

Filed under Interesting, Writing

Leave a Reply

