No Excuses

There is no excuse for me not to be getting at least a few words in daily. Even if I don’t have any new ideas any time soon, I’ve got three books that need revisions and four that need writing. In a few weeks I’ll have a reason to set everything aside – when I get the first round of edits back on a book that I’ll be talking more about closer to release dates – but until then, there is no reason at all for me not to see progress every single day. Period.

It can be very easy for me to ignore my current projects for something new and shiny but I’m trying to break myself of that. Especially now that there are deadlines, contracts, and expectations involved. The odds are that it means that I won’t be able to do Nanowrimo this year because I’ll be doing the biggest chunk of edits and I’m good with that. I know I can do it. I’ve done it several times. And apparently, I’ve had some good successes with it because Guardian of the Gods, Hunter’s Crossing, and the one I’m not talking about right this second all started off as 50,000 word first drafts sputtered out in various Novembers. Two of the projects in need of revisions started that way too actually. None of them look much like their original form now and that’s for the best, but getting that first zero draft, that ugly splatter of ideas without the finer details, poetry, or grace is probably my favorite part of writing. It’s messy but it is invigorating, exhilarating, and exhausting all at once. That’s not to say the second and the beta drafts are less important but that first rush, when you know nothing about what’s going to happen, there’s something really special about it.

I did get a few words in on Soul Eater and some notes on Demonborne so I’m calling it a successful day. Tomorrow should be less busy so I should hopefully be able to get even more done!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, WIP, Writing

Leave a Reply

