PSA – Melanoma Or Get Thee to a Dermatologist

Melanoma runs deep in my family. It is how my mother died 20 years ago. We are absolutely proactive about it. Sunscreen is a MUST. Checking of all the moles is a must. I know what a “good” mole looks like vs a “bad” mole. I check myself and the kids pretty regularly. It is habit now.

Because this is the year for freaking out, a little after I found my little bump, I noticed that there was a mole on my oldest son’s arm that I did not like. Not one little bit. So I scheduled a dermatologist appointment for him too. Of course, a few days before his appointment, I hurt my foot and could drive so the husband had to take him. The doctor took the mole I was worried about and another one too.

It’s the waiting that makes it all unbearable. A week for a biopsy. The kid did better at waiting than me. I worry over it, obsess over it, and run through all the worst case scenarios in my head because that is what I’ve always done. Apart from letting me check his wounds and their healing process, he’s not said a word about it. He’s not acting worried or anything either. He hasn’t even asked me once about when we hear back on said biopsy. I called today (it’s always a good sign when you have to call them) and he’s all clear. They were just moles. And that is the biggest relief.

I know it’s family history that makes me nervous for him. I’ve been a basket case for every single one of the moles I’ve had removed (5). I really hoped I’d have longer to wait before he started getting pieces of himself taken off. I was 17 the first time I had a mole removed. He’s not quite 15 yet. And his looked scarier than mine. And now I’ve called and gotten the information I need – just moles, not precancer or melanomas. Boring old moles. I LOVE boring old moles.

Most people have some moles, freckles, or other marks. You should get them checked. A good baseline check by a dermatologist and learn the difference between moles you can ignore and moles you should worry about. Get yourself checked and keep track of your spots. You are never too young to start checking for these things. It’s a good habit to get into – like checking for lumps in your breast in the shower.

Know the difference.

Know the difference.

1 Comment

Filed under Health, Life

One response to “PSA – Melanoma Or Get Thee to a Dermatologist

  1. I love your blog. You should add me on facebook or something and we can talk more! You seem like a really neat person.

    Love,
    Hannah

    Like

Leave a Reply

