Decorating Day!

I haven’t done a black Friday shopping run since my mom died – she made even the hectic shopping fun (granted 20 years ago it was no where near what it is now!). In my house, we have Decorating Day instead. It is one of my favorite holiday traditions. We stay home, watch Christmas movies, and decorate the house. It actually will take us all weekend to get it finished and it won’t actually be finished until Monday when we do the big tree.

The next few days will be crazy busy but, when it’s all done, my house will look a little like Christmas exploded in it and I will settle in with my hot cider and watch the trees twinkle and all the candles flicker and hope for snow (the only time of year where this is the case! And not enough snow to cancel snow – I have too much to do and not enough time).

Christmas is my favorite time of year and I love the traditions we’ve made and have been passed down. My favorite is Decorating Day but I love the baking days, making days, that every year I make something at least for my two boys but I try and make things for everyone, I love the silly Christmas movies, silly Christmas songs, and I love that one of my favorite writers is about to do her Advent story.

What are your favorite Christmas traditions?

Leave a comment

Filed under Life, Parenting

Leave a Reply

