Short Stories

Years ago, it seemed like I wrote a new short story every week and I loved it (and had a number of them published too). There’s something about a good short story – both in the writing of them and the reading of them. I still remember the first time I read The Lottery or The Tell-Tale Heart or the story about the cat who suddenly realized that he is now the king of cats (a moment with Google would give me the name but I’m ashamed of myself for not remembering it off the top of my head). There have been a number of great short stories that have really stuck with me over the years.

Being able to tell a story that moves someone or frightens someone in less than 8000 words is an impressive feat. It gets more impressive as that word count lowers (to me anyway). I would not be the writer that I am without the short stories I’ve read and that I’ve written. It has been much too much too long since I’ve written a solid short story so I that’s what I’m doing today. I don’t know if it’ll be any good or not but right now, I’m not sure that is the part that matters as much as the writing of it – the succinct telling of a complete story. It’s good practice that keeps me from bloating up my longer works with extraneous ramblings.

And I’m procrastinating a little to keep from getting started on my goal of getting a good chunk of a short story drafted up today…

2 Comments

Filed under Writing

2 responses to “Short Stories

  1. anotherclosethippie

    Agree! It’s great practice for writing charged, interesting scenes. Not much room to beat around the bush! Now if only it wasn’t so darn hard :p

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

