Review: Floating Loose by Jill Beck

book-floating-looseJust about the only silver lining to a terrible, no good, very bad summer cold is that reading is about the only thing I’m capable of doing and I can get caught up on reading! One of the books in my read pile  was Floating Loose by fellow Boroughs author, Jill Beck. I try to keep my reviews pretty spoiler free but sometimes a little one will slip in there.

There are a lot of good things about this particular story – Rylie is easy to get attached to, and not just for the reader. Before I had kids of my own, I would have identified with her on a different kind of level but I can’t separate out the mom now and I just want to wrap this girl up in the warmest blankets and hug her. It’s a sweet journey with a few pretty wicked curves thrown in there. At first, I was a tiny bit wary because of Rylie’s age but only because I have a teenager of my own. Honestly after that initial reaction, it didn’t matter and was, as it should be, just a little detail of the whole. It is, ultimately, the story of a lost girl who doesn’t quite know what it is she is looking for, or what she’s missing, until she has a chance to find it.

The changing of the heroine’s name off and on should be really confusing but it isn’t (kudos to Ms Beck on that one!). The characters are nicely well rounded but flawed enough not to be too good to be true. I get a little wary of private all girls school stories sometimes because they can be overwhelmingly catty but there’s only really two or three instances of bitchery and one of them you see coming from a mile away.

In short – if you also have a thing for lost orphan stories or sweet coming of age stories, you’ll enjoy it. It’s well written, sweet, engaging, and, best of all, full of growth across the board and not just for the main characters.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Reviews

Leave a Reply

