Stubborn Projects

I’m one of those strange writer types who has several projects going at the same time and who can’t imagine doing it differently as there is not enough time in my life to get all the stories I have to tell out of my head.

I’ve got one ready to submit, two that are nearly so, two drafted, three partially drafted, and a short story that needs done by October.

One of my nearly so projects is irksome. I know how it ends, I like the ending but making the changes it needs is proving to be a more daunting task than I’d expected. It’s already taken a few months longer than I’d expected it to. I think part of that has been that this summer hasn’t really been conducive to creating much of anything worthwhile – it’s been a little rough all around. I know I’m mere days away from getting it all shaped up know but I just can’t seem to get the words to come out right.

Fortunately for me, school is less than 2 weeks from starting up again. I love my kids (and even like them most days!) but it’s so much easier to work when I’m not answering 5000 questions about weird stuff – oldest child likes to play “who would win” with matchups that are way too overpowered to have a proper answer, youngest child likes to regale me with the histories of the logos of his favorite movie making companies. Especially TriStar’s Pegasus. Yesterday was a weird day in that they pretty much just let me work but I’m not getting two days in a row. So, yeah, I’m really looking forward to school.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life, Writing

Leave a Reply

