Why I NaNoWriMo

NaNoWriMo approaches! For those who don’t know, it’s that time of year when a bunch of writers decide to write 50,000 words in a month. It is good for getting that zero draft down without stopping to fix things or over think things. I like it – I work better with a deadline and the accountability that having so many people working towards the same goal brings. It must work out all right for me as I’ve been successful 7 times, 3 of those successes are now available, 2 of them are about ready to find homes, and one still needs work. That last one, I don’t know yet what to do with it as it’s not what I want it to be but it isn’t a priority for me either.

I am not a plotter, I don’t do much in the way of prep work. I have a working title and the briefest idea of my heroine and that’s pretty much it. I have tried working with outlines, detailed backgrounds, and the like and it just saps all the magic right out of the process. I like to sit down, open a shiny new file and see what happens. More than once I’ve had to start over part way through the month but, as I can usually hammer out 50k in 20 days, I’m ok with that.

Technically, I should probably use this time to write one of the sequels – Hunter’s Crossing or Eldercynne Rising, but I have this other thing, this title in my head that has nothing to do with either of those stories and I am very curious to see where it goes.

I’ll probably update every few days in November¬†if you want to follow along. If you’re writing along, you can find me on the site as Shade53 (I know, imagine that).

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

