What’s in a Name?

I picked up a little snippet of an idea I jotted down a couple of years ago and am running with it. I see it growing up to be a short story, just this side of novelette most likely. It’s a rough length but once it’s done I can muck around with it until it’s a more saleable length. The problems I’m running into are all in the names. I do not like my placeholder names at all. It does not fit this woman at all. It does not fit her boss or her friend. I did get two names right but the rest will not work.

Sometimes names are easy. Sometimes I use a baby naming website. And then there are those other times when a regular name just isn’t going to cut it. I like to use ingredient lists for my fantasy characters. Take a syllable of this chemical and a syllable of that chemical and bang, you’ve got Tenorack (from Eldercynne Rising) and Ketryl (from a story that may never see daylight).

I suppose for this one, I’ll go back to a baby naming website since, even though it’s fantasy-ish, it is earthbound and contemporary. Have to find a name for a bad-ass government agent that doesn’t sound too happy. The name she has right now is much too happy to keep calling her.

2 Comments

Filed under WIP, Writing

2 responses to “What’s in a Name?

  1. JR

    If you don’t mind changing the sex, a friend at work just named his baby Atticus Steele and I think that meets the bad-ass government agent that doesn’t sound too happy requirement.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s a heck of a name! It feels a little literary meets shootemup. It does meet the not too happy requirement but in this instance, there’s another reason she has to be a female, it is actually intrinsic to the story itself but I may just file that name away for another story!

      Like

Leave a Reply

