Mother’s Day

Believe it or not, she really is where I got most of my weird.

Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms out there!

I’m not a big big fan of mother’s day. I love being a mom but I miss having a mom. I’m at the point now where I’ve been a mom longer than I had one. It’s weird. I don’t really feel like this holiday is mine though. For me, it’s still hers and will always be hers (but I let my kids spoil me anyway because it’s fun and they’re awesome). Don’t worry – I don’t make sense to anyone else either.

I love being a mom. I’ve known for my whole life that I wanted to be one. My first favorite book was When I Have A Little Girl. I didn’t get girls but I wouldn’t trade my boys for anything in the world. I don’t think I knew just how big love could be until I had them. They say it’s like wearing your heart outside of your body and I think that’s apt – at least for me.

I do have older women in my life but they aren’t my mom. They don’t get my weird or understand that I’m not actually planning on growing up anytime soon or at all. Growing up is so overrated. You can still be an adult and get things done, paid, and fed without being a grown-up.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

