Summer is Weird

By the time I get the schedule figured out to do all the things I need to be doing, school will be back in session. That’s ok. We’ll have fun. The youngest is ready to go hunt Pokemon again. The oldest is being a teenager (but at least he’s not half as teenagery as I was). I’m working on a few new crafty things but I really don’t like how they’re turning out just yet so it’s back to sewing machine with me. I’m working on a new book that I like very much. I’m doing a lot of figuring though – between the colony ships, timelines, and a whole new set of mythologies to work up, most of the work so far has been in my head. Well, technically it was in a notebook but Alfred decided I took too long at the bus stop one morning and now that notebook is gone.

It’s been really hard to be productive this year. I find myself all the time wishing I could send a few pages to my dad so he could tell me if it made any sort of sense at all. It was a huge benefit for me to have someone who didn’t read fiction reading my fiction. If something wasn’t explained adequately enough, he was quick to let me know so I could do better. And he was always supportive. He never tried to get me to write a different “Gendre” (that’s genre with a random D in it? I don’t get it either but now I miss it). He certainly tried to get me to read more nonfiction but he was only supportive with the writing. It’s weird knowing I don’t have that anymore. Yes, my family is supportive in their own way – mostly, that they let me do it without too many interruptions but it’s not the same thing as having someone who makes a point to ask if you’ve gotten any words on the daily. It’s stupid because that irritated me when I was struggling to write and now, I miss it terribly.

I can’t just stop everything though, can I? not if I want to reach the goals I set for myself. And I’m going to reach them. It may take me another 20 years but, so be it. I’ll get there. I’m doing a marathon, not a sprint. And now I have to go write someone else’s obituary. 😦 RIP to Adam West.

And now I have to go write someone else’s obituary over at the Geek Girl Project. 😦 RIP to Adam West.

Leave a comment

Filed under Crafts, Life, Writing

Leave a Reply

